Conference Summary

The 9th WCTR was held on July 22-27, 2001 at the COEX Convention Center in Seoul, Korea. The conference was jointly organized by Korean Society of Transportation and The Korea Transport Institute.

There were around 750 conference registrations altogether. Among them, 301 are the WCTR-S members, 232 are non-members, 217 are students (among them, 7 are for developing countries, 14 are spouses and 3 for bursaries). Delegates from 51 countries attended the conference. See Attachment 1: Number of Papers and Registrations by Country.

In Opening Ceremony held on July 23, over 700 delegates attended and there were addresses from Boo Sik Lee, Conference Co-Chairman of LOC, Chang-Ho Park, Conference Director, Hideo Nakamura, President of WCTR-S, Jang-Seop Oh, Minister of Korean Ministry of Construction and Transportation and Kun Goh, Mayor of Seoul Metropolitan Government. In Professor Manheim's Memorial Ceremony followed, Professor Moshe Ben-Akiva and Professor Lars Sjosteadt paid special tributes on the personality and works of Professor Manheim who was the first president of WCTR-S. In the following program, there was a special presentation on Korea's biggest transport projects, Incheon International Airport and Seoul-Busan High-Speed Railway Projects.

According to the scheduled session program, papers were presented and discussed. Regarding the papers presented, out of 1100 abstracts received 767 full papers were finally submitted and 631 papers were actually presented. These papers were presented in 196 sessions and there were 1 special session and 1 panel discussion. See Attachment 2: Number of Papers and Sessions by Topic Area. The CD-ROM containing all the papers submitted was distributed during the conference. The selected papers out of the papers reviewed and presented will be published in "The 9th WCTR Selected Proceedings."

In General Assembly held on July 24, there were reports on various activities of the WCTR-S in Term 1998-2001. Reports were presented on the scientific matters by Professor Tae Oum, the constitution of the WCTR-S by Professor Ali Huzayyin and the conference site selection for the 10th WCTR by Professor John Black. The venue of the 10th WCTR was announced and the next president of WCTR-S was elected.

During the conference, more than 500 delegates attended the technical tours and had a useful time to understand the Korea's transport development and future plans. The technical visit sites were: Incheon International Airport, Seoul-Busan High-Speed Railway, The Korea Transport Institute and Korea Highway Corporation.

In Closing Ceremony held on July 26, Professor Chang-Ho Park, Conference Director of the 9th WCTR, summarized the 9th WCTR conference and expressed sincere thanks to all of the conference delegates. The Prize Award Sub-committee chaired by Professor Peter Bonsall announced the selection of two WCTR prizes, '2001 WCTR Prize' open for all submitters and '2001 WCTR Young Prize' only to authors under 35 years of age. '2001 WCTR Young Prize' was awarded jointly to two papers, 'Model-Based Multi-class Travel Time Estimation' by Serge P.

Hoogendoorn and 'Information Reference Model Considering Uncertainty in Decision-making' by Eiji Hato. '2001 WCTR Prize' was awarded to the paper, 'A Cell-based Dynamic Traffic Assignment Model' authored by Hong K. Lo and Szeto W. Y. As the next president of the WCTR-S, Professor Werner Rothengatter made an inauguration speech. Professor Yucel Candimir, Conference Director of the 10th WCTR introduced the 10th WCTR to be held in Istanbul, Turkey, in 2004. Finally, on behalf of the WCTR-S, Professor Moshe Ben-Akiva made concluding remarks on the 9th WCTR and gave special thanks to the members of LOC for the successful conference organization.